Welcome to the Centrum für Osteopathie in Düsseldorf

Jarrod Russell and Annika Tenge welcome you to their practice for osteopathy in Düsseldorf. With over 30 years of clinical experience in osteopathy and internationally recognized osteopathic qualifications obtained via University. In our practice in Düsseldorf Düsseltal, you are in good hands.


Practice Concept

The essence of our treatment philosophy lies in the holistic and scientifically grounded application of osteopathy, sports science and rehabilitation, with the aim of offering you long-term solutions for your symptoms and overall health.

In our more than 30 years of experience in the field of osteopathy, we have repeatedly come to the realization that long-term and lasting improvements can usually only be achieved if the mechanical causes of the complaints and pain are identified and treated.

or over 20 years, a large number of scientific studies have emphasized that lasting improvements for mechanical, chronic pain conditions are most successfully

treated with a so-called multimodal approach of manual therapy treatments such as osteopathy and targeted patient-specific rehabilitation. That is why in our practice osteopathic treatments are combined with rehabilitation, sports science and rehabilitative Pilates approaches. Following osteopathic treatment, you will receive a specific training plan tailored exclusively to your needs, consisting of exercises that are to be performed at home. As soon as significant symptomatic improvement has been achieved, osteopathic treatment will no longer be used as the primary treatment approach, but rather focus will shift towards injury prevention with rehabilitation-oriented Reformer Pilates courses that are offered by highly trained instructors at Pilates am Zoo Düsseldorf, our cooperation partner for reformer Pilates and rehabilitation.


Services

Osteopathy

for Adults

With increasing age, most adults become less physically active thereby potentially leading to injury, degeneration, poor posture and subsequent pain. Because our osteopathic practice addresses your specific problems individually and we specialize in the treatment of musculoskeletal disorders, our practice is the right choice for the osteopathic treatment of adults.

Osteopathy

for babies and children

Pregnancy and birth can be traumatic for some infants, leading to pathological tension or mechanical restrictions that can potentially affect the development of the infant or child. Since our osteopathic practice, among other osteopathic specialties, also specializes in osteopathy for babies and children, you can feel completely confident in trusting us with the osteopathic treatment of your child or baby.

Osteopathy

in pregnancy

Pregnancy brings with it specific physical changes that can sometimes manifest as pain due to dysfunctions in the pelvis and pelvic floor. We treat these disorders regularly in our osteopathic practice, as the treatment of pregnant women is one of several main patient groups we see daily in our practice.

Osteopathy

for athletes

Sport causes significant physiological stress, which is necessary for improved sports performance, but additionally contributes to an increased risk of injury. With several years of experience in treating competitive and amateur athletes, and through close collaboration with Pilates am Zoo in Düsseldorf, our osteopathy practice offers advanced services in injury treatment and prevention for athletes in Düsseldorf.


What is Osteopathy?

Osteopathy is a holistic form of treatment that can be applied to a wide variety of functional disorders of the human organism.

Muscles, organs, bones, blood vessels – everything in our body is mobile. This mobility is the basis of our health. If the mobility in one body part is compromised, this can have potential ramifications on other body regions. Osteopathy specializes in recognizing and treating movement disorders.

In osteopathy, the body is always considered a unit therefore meaning that osteopathic treatment focuses not only on the symptomatic region of the body, but also the mechanical restrictions and imbalances of the rest of the body that may potentially be contributing to or resulting from the patients injury. During the treatment, mobility restrictions are removed through targeted mobilization and manipulation.

Three different systems are considered:

The parietal system

(the musculoskeletal system with joints, muscles, tendons and fascia

The visceral system

the internal organs

The craniosacral system

nervous system and its connections to the sacrum and skull

The aim of osteopathic treatment is to find and resolve the cause of the complaints.

The osteopath works exclusively with his hands and uses specific manual techniques. Through the use of these manual techniques it is intended to activate and support the body’s own self-healing properties. Osteopathy is not a substitute for classical medicine, but ideally works together with other medical disciplines. If the patient’s symptoms do not have a functional cause, the osteopath subsequently refers to an appropriate specialist. For many clinical conditions, osteopaths work together with your treating physician (e.g. orthopedic physicians, orthodontists, gynecologists).

Our way of working

The aim of our treatment is to find the cause of your symptoms and subsequently resolve them. We work exclusively with our hands, examine thoroughly and allow one hour for each consultation.

After a detailed examination, discussion and treatment, you will obtain a specific rehabilitation plan tailored exclusively to your needs, consisting of exercises that are to be performed at home. These exercises are intended to promote recovery. If follow-up treatments are deemed necessary, we will actively discuss your treatment plan with you.

In order to keep up to date with the latest osteopathic and sports science findings, we regularly take part in further training.

The history of osteopathy

The American physician Andrew Taylor Still is considered the founder of osteopathy.

In the 19th century, he sought a new form of medicine based on his own experiences with illness. He explored a wide variety of approaches and in particular the anatomy of the human body. Still came to the conclusion that mobility is at the centre of health and that every human being has self-healing powers that need to be activated. He researched the interactions of the organ systems and developed a new treatment concept based on manual therapy.

In 1892 he founded the “American School of Osteopathy” in Kirksville, Missouri, which still exists today.  Here, Still trained his students, and here new impulses for manual therapy were developed. At the beginning of the 20th century, a patient and student of Still’s brought osteopathy to Europe via England.

Osteopathy in Germany and worldwide

Today, osteopathy is a widely used treatment method. In the USA and Australia and in some European countries, such as England and France, osteopathy is a state-recognized profession regulated by academic training in its own courses of study.

In Germany, the training of osteopaths is disorganized and not unified. However, all therapists working as osteopaths must either be a medical physician or Heilpraktiker. Jarrod Russell completed a five-year full-time osteopathic course at the University of Western Sydney in his home country of Australia and passed the Heilpraktiker examination in Germany. After her training as a physiotherapist, Annika Tenge also completed a five-year course of study at the International Academy of Osteopathy in Belgium and also has passed the Heilpraktiker examination. Both have more than 15 years of professional experience in the field of osteopathy.

Osteopath in Behandlung

Herzlich willkommen im Centrum für Osteopathie in Düsseldorf

Jarrod Russell und Annika Tenge begrüßen Sie in ihrer Osteopathie-Praxis in Düsseldorf. Mit ingesamt über 30 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Osteopathie, basierend auf einem Hochschulstudium der Osteopathie, sind Sie in unserer Praxis in Düsseldorf Düsseltal in den besten Händen.


Praxis-Konzept

Die Essenz unserer Behandlungsphilosophie liegt in der ganzheitlichen und wissenschaftlich belegten Anwendung von Osteopathie, Sportwissenschaft und Rehabilitation, mit dem Ziel, Ihnen in unserer Praxis langfristige Lösungen für Ihre Beschwerden und Ihre Gesundheit anzubieten.

In unserer über 30-jährigen Erfahrung mit der Osteopathie, sind wir immer wieder zu der Erkenntnis gekommen, dass langfristige und dauerhafte Verbesserungen meist nur dann erreichbar sind, wenn die mechanischen Ursachen der Beschwerden und Schmerzen identifiziert und behandelt werden.

Seit über 20 Jahren betonen eine Vielzahl an wissenschaftlichen Studien, dass nachhaltige Verbesserung für mechanische,

chronische Schmerzzustände am erfolgreichsten mit einem sogenannten multimodalen Ansatz von manueller Therapie- Behandlungen wie Osteopathie und gezielter patientenspezifischer Rehabilitation behandelt werden. Deswegen werden in unserer Praxis osteopathische Behandlungen mit Rehabilitation, Sportwissenschaft und rehabilitativen Pilates-Ansätzen kombiniert. Sie erhalten von uns spezifische Trainingspläne mit gezielten Übungen, die zu Hause durchgeführt werden können. Sobald Schmerzfreiheit oder eine deutliche symptomatische Verbesserung erreicht worden ist, wird die osteopathische Behandlung nicht mehr im Vordergrund stehen, sondern wir fokussieren uns auf Verletzungsprävention mit rehabilitationsorientierten Reformer-Pilates-Kursen, gemeinsam mit unserem Kooperationspartner Pilates am Zoo Düsseldorf.


Leistungen

Osteopathie-Leistungen für Erwachsene
Osteopathie

für Erwachsene

Mit zunehmendem Alter kommt es bei den meisten Erwachsenen zu Bewegungsmangel, der zu Verletzungen, Degeneration, schlechter Haltung und anschließendem Schmerz führen kann. Da unsere Osteopathie- Praxis individuell auf Ihre spezifischen Probleme eingeht und wir uns auf Funktionsstörungen des Bewegungsapparates spezialisiert haben, ist unsere Praxis die richtige Wahl für die osteopathische Behandlung von Erwachsenen.

Osteopathie für Kinder & Säuglinge
Osteopathie

für Säuglinge und Kinder

Schwangerschaft und Geburt können für manche Säuglinge traumatisch sein, was zu pathologischen Spannungen oder Blockaden führen kann, die eventuell die Weiterentwicklung des Säuglings oder Kindes beeinträchtigen können. Da sich unsere Praxis für Osteopathie, neben anderen osteopathischen Fachgebieten, zusätzlich auf Kinderosteopathie spezialisiert hat, können Sie mit gutem Gewissen Ihre Säuglinge und Kinder jeden Alters bei uns behandeln lassen

Osteopathie in der Schwangerschaf
Osteopathie

in der Schwangerschaft

Eine Schwangerschaft bringt spezifische körperliche Veränderungen mit sich, die sich manchmal aufgrund von Funktionsstörungen an Becken und Beckenboden als Schmerz manifestieren können. Diese Störungen behandeln wir in unserer Osteopathie-Praxis regelmäßig, da die Behandlung von Schwangeren ein Schwerpunkt unserer Praxis ist.

Oosteopathie bei Sportverletzungen
Osteopathie

für Sportler

Sport verursacht signifikanten physiologischen Stress, der notwendig für eine verbesserte Sportleistung ist, aber zusätzlich zu einer erhöhten Verletzungsgefahr beiträgt.  Mit unserer mehrjährigen Erfahrung in der Behandlung von Leistungs- und Hobbysportlern und durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Pilates am Zoo in Düsseldorf, bietet unsere Osteopathie-Praxis die modernsten Leistungen in der Behandlung und Präventionen von Verletzungen für Sportler in Düsseldorf an.


Was ist Osteopathie?

Osteopathie ist eine ganzheitliche Behandlungsform, die bei unterschiedlichsten Funktionsstörungen des menschlichen Organismus angewendet werden kann.

Muskeln, Organe, Knochen, Blutgefäße – in unserem Körper ist alles beweglich. Diese Beweglichkeit ist die Grundlage unserer Gesundheit. Ist die Beweglichkeit in einem Bereich gestört, beeinflusst dies auch den Rest des Körpers. Die Osteopathie ist darauf spezialisiert, Bewegungsstörungen zu erkennen und zu therapieren.

In der Osteopathie wird der Körper immer als eine Einheit gesehen. Bei der Behandlung wird also nicht nur der Bereich, in dem für den Patienten fühlbare Beschwerden auftreten betrachtet, sondern auch die mechanischen Einschränkungen und Ungleichgewichte des übrigen Körpers. Während der Behandlung werden durch gezielte Mobilisation und Manipulation Blockaden und Mobilitätseinschränkungen aufgehoben.

Dabei werden drei unterschiedliche Systeme betrachtet:

Das parietale System

der Bewegungsapparat mit Gelenken, Muskeln, Sehnen und Faszien

Das viszerale System

die inneren Organe

Das kraniosakrale System

Nervensystem und seine Verbindungen zu Kreuzbein und Schädel

Ziel der osteopathischen Behandlung ist, die Ursache für die Beschwerden zu finden und aufzulösen.

Der Osteopath arbeitet dabei ausschließlich mit den Händen und wendet spezielle Griff- und Bewegungstechniken an. Durch die manuelle Behandlung sollen die körpereigenen Selbstheilungskräfte aktiviert und unterstützt werden. Osteopathie ist kein Ersatz für die klassische Medizin, sondern arbeitet idealerweise mit anderen medizinischen Disziplinen zusammen. Sofern die Symptome des Patienten keine funktionellen Ursachen haben, verweist der Osteopath immer zum entsprechenden Facharzt. Bei vielen Krankheitsbildern arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit Ihrem behandelnden Arzt (z.B. Orthopäden, Kieferorthopäden, Gynäkologen).

Unsere Arbeitsweise

Ziel unserer Behandlung ist das Auffinden der Ursache der Beschwerden und ihre Auflösung. Wir arbeiten ausschließlich mit den Händen, untersuchen gründlich und nehmen uns für jede Sitzung eine Stunde Zeit. Nach einem ausführlichen Gespräch und der Behandlung erarbeiten wir für Sie einen Übungsplan. Wir zeigen Ihnen, was Sie zu Hause und im Alltag tun können, um Ihre Genesung voranzutreiben und Ihre Leistunsfähigkeit im Alltag sicherzustellen. Sofern Folgebehandlungen sinnvoll sind, besprechen wir gemeinsam Ihren Behandlungsplan.

Um immer auf dem neuesten Stand der osteopathischen und sportwissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse zu sein, nehmen wir regelmäßig an Fortbildungen teil.

Die Geschichte der Osteopathie

Als Begründer der Osteopathie gilt der amerikanische Arzt Andrew Taylor Still, der im 19.

Jahrhundert aufgrund seiner eigenen Erfahrungen mit Krankheit eine neue Form der medizinischen Herangehensweise suchte. Er beschäftigte sich mit unterschiedlichsten Ansätzen und erforschte insbesondere die Anatomie des Menschen. Still kam zu dem Schluss, dass im Zentrum der Gesundheit die Beweglichkeit steht und jeder Mensch über Selbstheilungskräfte verfügt, die es zu aktivieren gilt. Er erforschte die Wechselwirkungen der Organsysteme und entwickelte ein neues Behandlungskonzept, das auf manueller Therapie basierte.

1892 gründete er die „American School of Osteopathy“ in Kirksville, Missouri die noch heute

existiert. Hier bildete Still seine Schüler aus und hier entwickelten sich neue Impulse für die

Behandlung mit den Händen. Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts brachte ein Patient und Schüler Stills die Osteopathie über England nach Europa.

Osteopathie in Deutschland und weltweit

Heute ist die Osteopathie eine weit verbreitete Behandlungsmethode. In den USA und Australien sowie in einigen europäischen Ländern, wie z.B. England oder Frankreich, ist die Osteopathie ein staatlich anerkanntes Berufsbild und wird durch akademische Ausbildungen in eigenen Studiengängen geregelt.

In Deutschland ist die Ausbildung der Osteopathen nicht einheitlich organisiert. Allerdings müssen alle als Osteopath arbeitenden Therapeuten eine Arzt- oder Heilpraktiker-Erlaubnis haben. Jarrod Russell hat in seinem Heimatland Australien ein fünfjähriges Vollzeit-Studium der Osteopathie an der University of Western Sydney absolviert und in Deutschland die Heilpraktikerüberprüfung abgelegt. Annika Tenge hat nach ihrer Ausbildung als Physiotherapeutin ebenfalls ein fünfjähriges Studium an der International Academy of Osteopathy in Gent/Belgien und in Regensburg absolviert und ebenfalls ihre Heilpraktierüberprüfung abgelegt. Beide haben mehr als 15 Jahre Berufserfahrung in der Osteopathie.